Devon Association of GovernanceDevon Association of Governance

Devon Education Forum

Schools Forum is an influential body within education, the composition, constitution and procedures of which are governed by national regulations.

The forum acts in a consultative role for:

  • changes to the local funding formula (the local authority is responsible for the final decision, although in some cases it may delegate the decision-making power to the Schools Forum)
  • proposed changes to the operation of the minimum funding guarantee
  • changes to or new contracts affecting schools
  • arrangements for pupils with special educational needs, in pupil referral units and in early years provision.

The forum is responsible for decisions on:

  • how much funding may be centrally retained within the Dedicated Schools Grant (e.g. for the Admissions Service, prudential borrowing costs, additional funding available for growing schools)
  • any proposed carry forward of deficits on central spend from one year to the next
  • proposals to de-delegate funding from maintained primary and secondary schools (e.g. for staff supply cover, insurance, behaviour support)
  • changes to the scheme of financial management.

All DAG representatives to Devon Education Forum, who are not board members, are given DAG Associate Board status. Associate board member role descriptor (1)

To view DEF Agendas and Minutes please click here.

Devon Education Forum New Member

The Devon Association of Governance (DAG) is pleased to confirm the following new member of the Devon Education Forum from 1st January 2022:

Primary Governor (maintained):                              John Clements from              St Martin’s Primary School, Cranbrook, Exeter.

Following the election process notified on the DAG website, only one nominee came forward, so DAG has appointed this new member to the Devon Education Forum (DEF).

DEF is made up of representatives from schools and academies, but with some representation from other non-school organisations, such as nursery and 16-19 education providers. The forum acts as a consultative body on some issues and a decision-making body on others and currently meets termly virtually. Follow the link for further information on the work of the Devon Education Forum.

Next Event

DAG Community Networks – Chairs Forum Monday 31st January 2022 at 6pm